Fitness Fun at the Gym

I am very passionate about keeping fit. Last year I joined my local gym, and stated to engage with the different equipment and exercises there. This was a new experience for me, having never been a gym member before, and I have loved every minute. It is such a rewarding and enjoyable experience to exercise and embrace active ways of staying fit in your daily life. Here are some top tips from my own experience:

  • Find something you love – When you go to a gym, it’s important to choose things you enjoy. I amweight lifting not such a big fan of cycling or treadmill exercise machines (I prefer to go running and walking in the fresh open air). However, I absolutely adore weight lifting, rowing and using the cross trainer, as well as swimming lengths in the pool. I focused my energy on using these equipment and swimming,  as this is what I am passionate about, and have been able to improve my fitness, as well as enjoying the experience immensely.
  • Get professional help – When we joined the gym, we were offered an introductory training session, to which we said yes. This was great because we were taught what equipment was available, how to use them properly and safely, and also set some targets for fitness goals we wanted to achieve.
  • Try something exciting and new – Our gym offers an aqua aerobics class, and this has been one of the most enjoyable ways of keeping fit I have discovered. On first glance, I was daunted at joining the class, as the movements looked complicated and I was a little nervous as I didn’t know anyone there. However, I jumped out of my comfort zone and over the past year have found the stretches and movements have helped me to achieve better posture, muscle tone, and overall fitness, as well as building confidence and giving opportunities to build friendships with people in the local area.

So readers, I want to hear from you! How do you enjoy keeping fit?

2 Comments Add yours

  1. dawnpdarnell says:

    Great advice! I love working out doors. Just followed your blog. Hopefully we can support each other through our fitness blogging journey!

    http://www.dawnpdarnell.com

    1. Alice says:

      Thank you for your lovely comment, Dawn! 🙂 Wishing you the very best with your fitness journey. 🙂

Leave a Reply

