Greek Feast

When my friend said she was coming to dinner with her husband, immediately I began to prepare excitedly what we were going to have for lunch. Having studied nutrition, and as a foodie, I absolutely love putting together recipes and healthy food ideas.

After swirling a few ideas around in my head, I decided to take the plunge and do my first buffet. Being a lover of Mediterranean foods, I chose a Greek theme. Here are some of the dishes I served at the buffet:

  • Grilled Halloumi
  • Dolmades
  • Hummus
  • Garlic and Chilli Bread (Gluten free)
  • Carrot and Greek Yoghurt Dip
  • Olives
  • A fresh salad

Buffets are great ideas to do for a lunch or a tea. They allow the palette to enjoy a vast array of textures and flavours, and can be catered for different needs. This buffet was suitable for gluten free and vegetarian.

I bought some of the ingredients (dolmades, hummus), although I do hope someday to take sometime to formulate my own recipes for these. However, below I have included the recipes I did home-cook for the grilled halloumi,  Carrot and Greek Yoghurt Dip and also the Garlic and Chilli Bread.

Grilled Halloumi

Ingredients

1 halloumi steak

a pinch of basil

a pinch of oregano

Method

I split the steaks into four pieces and then grilled them until they were melted. This was around 5 – 10 mins.

Carrot and Greek Yoghurt Dip

Ingredients

1 carrot

Greek Yoghurt

A squeeze of lemon juice

Method

I grated the carrot and then blitzed with the Greek yoghurt and lemon juice in the food processor. I then covered and placed in the freezer.

Garlic and Chili Bread 

Ingredients 

3 slices of gluten free bread

2 tbsp of dried garlic powder

1 tsp of dried chilli flakes

Butter or coconut oil

Method

Slice the bread into 9 smaller pieces, spread on butter ,or coconut oil and then place the garlic powder and chilli flakes on top. Place in oven for 10 mins or until golden brown.

 

Having a themed buffet is tons of fun and can be packed with lots of good nutrition, also. I loved the experience and hope to do and share more of these in future.

Leave a Reply

